Recipe – Taco Pie

IMG_3363

This has been one of my most favorite, easiest, go-to recipes for a while.  I love taco pie.  The only problem is that my recipes makes a 9×13 pan, and as a single person I can’t (shouldn’t) be eating that much for supper.  So this past week I invited my brother, his fiance, and his roommate over for supper and we devoured the whole pan.  

IMG_3358

The best thing this recipe has going for it is it’s sheer simplicity.  There are few ingredients and steps.  To start the recipe, you line a 9×13 pan with crescent rolls.  You smooth them out and make sure all the cuts between them are pushed together.

IMG_3359

I realize that isn’t the most appealing picture above, so let me explain what we have going on there.  You will brown one pound of hamburger, then mix in a packet of taco seasoning and prepare it as directed on the seasoning packet.  After that is done, mix in 1 cup of sour cream.  Pour over the crescent rolls.  I don’t have much for Pampered Chef stuff in my kitchen, but I do have a micro-cooker and I love it.  I use the large size to brown hamburger frequently, and then my Mix-n-Chop to break it up.  Using that item really speeds this process up.  After the hamburger is browned I mix in the water and taco seasoning, microwave for 1-2 minutes, mix in the sour cream, and microwave for about 1 more minute.

IMG_3361

After the meat layer has been added, you top it with cheese.  I use a blend of mozzarella and cheddar.  You could also use a Mexican flavored cheese.  You’re only supposed to used about 3/4 cup of each, but cheese never hurt anyone.

IMG_3362

After the cheese layer, take a few handfuls of Fritos and crush them over the top of the casserole.  You can add as many or as few as you want, but keep in mind, you’ll be refrigerating leftovers and the chips will get soggy in the fridge.  I tend to be heavier on the chips on one end and lighter on the other so I can add fresh ones whenever I’m having leftovers.

IMG_3366

Nom nom nom nom nom.  So tasty!  Here is the recipe – hope you enjoy!

Taco Pie

1 tube crescent rolls
1 lb. hamburger
1 packet taco seasoning
1/2 cup water
1 cup sour cream
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
1 cup shredded mozarella cheese
1 cup crushed corn chips

Preheat oven to 350. Grease bottom of 9×13 pan. Unroll crescent rolls into bottom of pan. Seal perforations. Brown hamburger, drain. Mix in water and taco seasoning. Simmer for 5 min. Stir in sour cream. Heat for 3-5 more minutes. Pour beef mixture over crescent rolls. Sprinkle cheeses over beef mixture. Top wtih the corn chips. Bake at 350 for 25-30 minutes.

Leave a Reply

