Chicken Alfredo Lasagna

IMG_3280

Last night I decided it was time I get around to trying a new recipe.  My evenings have been so busy recently and I’ve been relying on quick, convenient foods to get by.  But with a full night at home and a short to-do list, I decided to take time to make a new recipe: Chicken Alfredo Lasagna.  Oh My Goodness Yum!  It took me a while to put this together, but it was completely worth it.

This recipe caught my attention because it was made in a loaf pan. I’m the only one in my household, and I’m not a huge fan of leftovers, so this was the perfect amount for me.  My brother and his girlfriend stopped by for lunch today and we finished it off – so easily 4 servings although it says 3.

IMG_3270

The ingredients were pretty basic of lasagna, just swapping white sauce for red, and chicken for the beef.  The recipe, as written, did call for mushrooms, but I’m not a fan of them, so didn’t include them.  Although I had time to make this dish, I rarely use raw onions and garlic in my dishes.  Instead, I used some minced onion and previously minced garlic.  I don’t like food waste, so these let me get the amount I need without having the remaining onion or cloves left over.

IMG_3273

I started off by getting a pot of water boiling and cooking the noodles.  While that was in process I cut up the chicken and started cooking that.  While these two things were cooking, I also managed to get the cheese/egg mixture put together.  A lot of moving pieces with these recipes, but each step is fairly simple.

IMG_3278

So, are you hungry now?  Well, here is the recipe as it read:

Alfredo Chicken Lasagna Recipe

  • TOTAL TIME: Prep: 25 min. Bake: 40 min. + standing YIELD:3 servings

Ingredients

  • 6 ounces boneless skinless chicken breast, cut into bite-size pieces
  • 1 cup sliced fresh mushrooms
  • 2 tablespoons chopped onion
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup Alfredo sauce
  • 3/4 cup 2% cottage cheese
  • 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons shredded Parmesan cheese, divided
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 teaspoon Italian seasoning
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried parsley flakes
  • 4 lasagna noodles, cooked and drained
  • 1-1/2 cups (6 ounces) shredded part-skim mozzarella cheese

Directions

  • In a large skillet, saute the chicken, mushrooms and onion in oil until chicken is no longer pink. Add garlic; cook 1 minute longer. Stir in flour until blended; gradually stir in Alfredo sauce. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat; simmer, uncovered, for 3-5 minutes or until thickened.
  • In a small bowl, combine the cottage cheese, 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese, egg, Italian seasoning and parsley.
  • Spread 1/2 cup Alfredo mixture in an 8-in. x 4-in. loaf pan coated with cooking spray. Layer with two noodles (trimmed to fit pan), half of the cottage cheese mixture, half of the remaining Alfredo mixture and 3/4 cup mozzarella cheese. Sprinkle with remaining Parmesan cheese. Repeat layers.
  • Cover and bake at 350° for 30 minutes. Uncover; bake 10 minutes longer or until bubbly. Let stand for 10 minutes before cutting. Yield: 3 servings.
Leave a Reply

