Recipe – Apple Crisp

IMG_2511

In case you haven’t noticed folks (speaking to folks of the midwest US variety), fall is in pretty full swing here.  The leaves are changing and the temps are dropping.  I even saw ‘sleet’ today.  I refuse to call it the S word because it is way too early for that.

I had the perfect fall morning planned.  Since we haven’t hit daylight savings time and the sun isn’t coming up til about 8:00, I decided to go get some sunrise pictures.  This last week, every morning as I start my day at the office I have been fighting with the intense sunrise and the light causing shadows and reflections all over my computer screen.  So I drove east this morning until I found an open area.  Guess what?  Clouds.  Everywhere.  Typically the sun has shone for about a half hour before disappearing below cloud cover, but not today.  I did go on a little hike and took some pictures, but not the sunrise I was hoping for.

Up next on my fall morning, I decided to make some apple crisp.  I’ve been making double batches each time I make it this year, so today were pans 5 and 6.  I picked my own apples at an orchard about 15 miles south of where I’m living.  This year I picked Cortland apples.  They’re pretty soft, but for baking apples they’re good.

IMG_2513

My apple crisp recipe is fairly simple.  Not too many ingredients, plus I have a fun kitchen gadget to make the apple peeling, coring, slicing process faster.  Above are some of the ingredients needed.  The recipe, as it reads, starts you off with preparing the apples, however, in order to keep them from turning brown I always do that part last.

IMG_2514

My first step is always measuring out all the dry ingredients.  You will need 2 bowls.  Mix together the sugar, flour, cinnamon, and salt.  Set this bowl to the side.  You will mix the apples into it later.

IMG_2515

Mix the rest of the dry ingredients: oatmeal, flour, brown sugar, soda.  I usually blend this with a fork to break up any clumps of brown sugar.

IMG_2517

IMG_2518

Up next is my favorite part.  I bought this gadget a few years ago and it has changed the way I make apple crisp!  I stick the apple on the end and then twist it through the blade and peeler.  After it is through I slice the apple into thirds and dump it in the sugar mixture.

At this point I forgot to take pictures of the process.  I got going and forgot my camera.  I mix up the apples in the sugar until there is not anymore dry sugar in the bowl.  Then I dump the apples into the pans.  Next up, I melt the butter and mix it into the oatmeal  mixture.  Again, mix until there are not any dry ingredients floating around.  Sprinkle this mixture over the apples and place the pans in the 350 degree oven.

IMG_2520

Yum!  A tasty fall treat about to be enjoyed!

IMG_2525

You can enjoy the crisp as is, or to jazz it up a bit add a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

Apple Crisp

3 cups apples – peeled and sliced (I cut up 2 pretty good sized apples)
3/4 cup white sugar
1 Tablespoon flour
1 teaspoon cinnamon
pinch of salt
Topping:
3/4 cup oatmeal
3/4 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup flour
1/4 teas soda
1/3 cup butter

Mix together: apples, white sugar, flour cinnamon and salt. Put in a 9×9 greased pan.

Mix together: oatmeal, brown sugar, flour, soda, butter (melted).
Put on top of apple mixture. Bake until apples are done and brown in a 350 oven. For me this was about 20-25 minutes. It will be bubbly along the sides when done.

Leave a Reply

