Today’s Adventure

I had every intention of getting a new blog up today.  I was going to go fishing first, soak up some sun, hopefully catch a bass or two.  Then come home and relax and put up another recipe blog.  Well, every once in a while, life likes to remind you that you aren’t actually in charge.  When I woke up this morning I was experiencing a lot of pain in the lower right side of my abdomen.  I started experiencing other symptoms and started googling them.  I had myself convinced that I had appendicitis.  I had my boyfriend take me to the ER.  The pain got way worse, to the point that I was laying in the bed and screaming.  The doctor gave me one look and realized I was….passing a kidney stone!  Oh joy.  They gave me pain meds several different times and they never worked.  Finally they switched to something a little stronger, the pain subsided, and I fell asleep.

When I woke up, the doctor asked how I was feeling.  I told him I was feeling much better than before.  Any pain, he asked.  i told him there was a little pain, but nothing like before.  He looked at me and said, ‘ok, good, you’ve passed it then.’  Just like that he decided I had passed it.  10 minutes later I was walking (very slowly) out the door.  No meds, no follow-ups, just some papers that had a list of about 100 items I probably shouldn’t eat.  I’ve been sleeping and relaxing the rest of the day now.  My body is wore out from that fight this morning.  I’ve known I had this stone since last August, but I’m clueless what caused it to suddenly make a move today.

I guess you just never really know what your day is going to bring when you wake up each day.  I’m just thankful my boyfriend was able to help me out and take care of me, and that the doctors eventually found a pain med that worked for me.  Join me in raising a glass of water to the caretakers in our lives!

Leave a Reply

