Recipe – Rice Krispies S’more Pinwheels

IMG_0517

Happy 4th of July everyone!  I saved this recipe a few months ago when I saw it floating around on Facebook.  I knew at some point I’d find a good occasion to make it.  Well, what says America and the 4th better than Rice Krispie treats and S’mores?  Why not combine them?  I met some friends for the annual Yankee Doodle Pops celebration.  Even though there are vendors available, the lines are usually very long considering there are 100,000 people and only 8 food stands.  I offered to bring supper for everyone and made these for dessert.

First off, make your traditional rice krispie treats.  The recipe says to make them in the microwave, but I always do mine on the stovetop.  My grandma always said they tasted better that way,  and I’m not about to question Grandma and her superior knowledge of baking.  The recipe also says to grease the wax paper.  This part I did follow, but tried to shortcut it by using spray.  I would suggest actually buttering the wax paper.  It will make a difference when you go to roll the treats up.

IMG_0508

I haven’t worked much with marshmallow creme.  I found it a little difficult to spread across the rice krispies without pulling them up.  The more I worked with it the more it seemed to loosen up and spread easier.  Any suggestions for making the creme easier to work with?  Should I stir it in the container first?

IMG_0511

IMG_0512

As for the chocolate, I would break the chocolate bars into smaller pieces.  Leaving the bars mostly whole like I did didn’t allow them to melt within the 2 minutes.  I did an additional 2 minutes and it was still a little hard in places, but it worked out in the end.

IMG_0514

I was a little nervous to roll this up jelly-roll style, but it went pretty well.  I should have packed in the rick krispies a little better in spots, but I was easily able to push them in as I rolled up everything.  After letting the roll set up in the fridge I used a bread knife to cut it into slices.  The recipe would suggest 1-in pieces, but I went about 1/2 in.  This is a very rich dessert, plus I wanted more than 15 treats.  Since I was going to be bringing this to a picnic setting I wrapped each slice in plastic wrap.  That way everyone could take one from the container without instantly having sticky fingers.

IMG_0520

Recipe Time!

10 oz miniature marshmallows
¼ cup butter (plus additional for greasing)
5 cup Rice Krispies cereal
¾ cup graham cracker crumbs
7 oz jar marshmallow creme
6 Hershey’s chocolate bars

Instructions
1) Preheat oven to 200 degrees.
2) Line a 10×15 jellyroll pan with waxed paper. Butter the waxed paper and set aside.
3) Combine marshmallows and one quarter cup of butter in a microwave-safe bowl. Cover and heat on high for 30 seconds, stir. Repeat until completely blended. (This is the part I did on the stovetop instead).
4) Stir in cereal and graham cracker crumbs.
5) Press mixture into prepared pan.
6) Spread marshmallow creme on top using an offset spatula.  Place Hershey’s bars on top of the marshmallow creme.
7) Place in oven for two minutes. Use a spatula to spread the softened chocolate.
8) Let cool for 10 minutes.
9) Roll up jellyroll style (like a cinnamon roll), starting on the long side. Peel away the waxed paper as you roll. Pinch the seams together.
10) Place seam side down and refrigerate for 30-45 minutes or until chocolate has set.
11) Slice and serve!

6 thoughts on “Recipe – Rice Krispies S’more Pinwheels

  1. Pingback: Recipe – Rice Krispies S’more Pinwheels « Marcey's Table

Leave a Reply

